Teaser Tuesday!

I grabbed my current read, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and opened it up to a random page.  Here are two sentences from somewhere on that page.

“When I finally conquer walking, there’s still sitting, posture — apparently I have a tendency to duck my head — eye contact, hand gestures, and smiling.”

Even though this isn’t typical of me, I have actually read The Hunger Games before.  However, instead of commenting on what I know this to be about, I am going to try to forget what I know and instead take a shot in the dark at what this could possibly indicate in the story.  With this mindset, I would guess that the speaker is the main character, Katniss.  I already know, at the point in the book that I am, that she can be disagreeable and somewhat hostile (though I can’t blame her).  I imagine the frustration and impatience that Katniss might display while being forced to do anything — let alone re-learn how to perform infantile tasks such as walking, sitting, and smiling.  If I were to have read this sentence without knowing where it came from (as in only knowing it came from some book in the world) then I would have guessed the part in The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot when Mia learns how to act like nobility instead of an American teenager.

“I’m smiling at you even though you’re aggravating me.”

This comes later in the page, but it is clear that the context is the same.  I assume (it’s such a struggle to not read at least the paragraph!) that Katniss must be saying this.  As I mentioned earlier, she’s somewhat obstinate and prone to honesty, even though it tends to get her into trouble…

If you want to find out more about the not-so-fabulous life of Katniss, come back next week!  I’ll be posting about the book on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?”

2 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday!

  1. I love that you said you wanted to pretend to be in the dark and not know what the sentences were about! I would have done the same thing. I love this book and the movie! I think that every now and then we should all pick a sentence or two from a book that we have already read and pretend to not know what is happening. This may bring about a new kind of perspective and adds imagination to our brains! When I read a book, I always try to think of more than one reason as to why the author wrote the book or even a scene they way they did. It keeps your brain on task and working. I think that you did a great job on your post and can’t wait to read more!

    Like

  2. I don’t know about you, but every time I try to guess the plot of an upcoming movie or book that I want to read, I am always WAY off! But it’s more fun that way! If I were able to exactly predict what was going to happen then it would be a pretty spice-less world. Next time you re-read a YA book for Adolescent Literature you should try this meme blog post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

