Teaser Tuesday!

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants book cover.gif

This week I am reading Ann Brashares’ book The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.  This is the first in a series of books about the separate adventures of friends during their summer break.  For Teaser Tuesday, I decided to take a sentence from somewhere near the middle of the book and somewhere near the end and see if I can predict what is going on.

“He was a caricature of a caricature of a loser.”
This is a complete shot in the dark, but I have a feeling that someone is going to fall in love with a boy who is widely defined as a ‘loser’.  Maybe the girl who said this even thought at one time he was a loser?  Just from the little background knowledge that I know about the Sisterhood books, there are a lot of brief romances so it’s probably a safe bet that whoever said this is talking about a future (or current) love interest.

“Maybe that was all you could ask for.”
I wish my eyes would have been attracted to an easier-to-decipher spot on the page.  This could be referring to anything.  But, I’m going to give it a wild guess.  I am going to assign this line to Carmen, the narrator of the story.  Her parents are divorced and she seems (understandably) upset about this.  I’m going to guess that this quote is in reference to this, and that she is beginning to come to terms with her separated parents.

2 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday!

  1. I loved this movie!I have never read the book(s), but I would be curious to read them and see if they are different in any way to the movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

