It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Lowry gathering blue cover.jpgThe Fault in Our Stars.jpgDivergent (book) by Veronica Roth US Hardcover 2011.jpg

I am so bummed that spring break is already over!  I don’t think I have registered all the way that this is the case; today I spent the whole afternoon reading another YA book instead of doing other homework.  I just can’t help it… I’m addicted to reading fun books. 🙂

Over the break I read a lot, but not as much as I would have liked (isn’t that always the case?)  First, I read “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green.  I’m a sucker for these types of stories.  I don’t want to give away any details just in case someone who reads this hasn’t but wants to read the book.  But, I can tell you that it’s a love story that ends somewhat unexpectedly.  And also I cried — I’ll admit it.  As the sap that I am, I would give the book 4 out of 5 stars.

The next book I read was “Divergent” by Veronica Roth.  I re-read this book because I would like to finish this series.  The first time I read the book I was interested, but unimpressed.  I felt like it was a copycat of “The Hunger Games”.  This time… I felt basically the same way.  And what’s worse is that in my opinion “The Hunger Games” was a better book.  I still have some criticisms of it too, but at least (to my knowledge) it was fairly original.  It’s an enjoyable story, but I would only give it 2 out of 5 stars (but I still plan on reading the rest in the series.)

I also found the time to read Lois Lowry’s “Gathering Blue” which is the second book in “The Giver” series.  This book is about an orphaned girl named Kira who is extraordinarily gifted and talented.  As in “The Giver”, the main character discovers surprising truths about the dystopian society and challenges the established culture.  I would recommend it to anyone who has read “The Giver” (heck, even people who haven’t) and give it 4 out of 5 stars.

I also read about 1/3 of “The Messenger” which is the next book in the quartet, but I will write about that next week. 🙂

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. It’s easy to forgo other homework to read novels, assigned or not. Should we feel productive when this happens? Haha, I’m not sure.

    Interesting choice of books. I know someone who read Divergent well before the movie came into existence and they loved it. I’ve just seen the trailers for it – haven’t read or watched it – and I got the same “The Hunger Games” vibe you seemed to get.

    And I just read Gathering Blue about a month ago. It was subtle and slow, but had some strong themes!

    Like

      • I have a definite favorite, but it has little to do with the novels themselves. It’s mostly about the settings.

        While both were dystopians, they were polar opposites in settings: The Giver was the imperfect world everyone thought was perfect; Gathering Blue was the imperfect world everyone knew was imperfect. I’ve always been an “ignorance is bliss” person, which will tell you which setting, and consequently book I like more, but I feel it deserves more detail. So:

        Short of being like a 1950’s sictom and seeing black and white, I was living in The Giver’s setting until the past couple years. I didn’t know about sacrifice, I didn’t know about how mean people could be, and I didn’t know about death. I was genuinely happy being ignorant about these things, and, well, everything.

        The past couple years however, I’ve been living in the setting of Gathering Blue – I have come to know these hardships. I now know sacrifice: Working almost forty hours a week and taking more than a full-time student’s load of credits and being several hundred miles away from my family, I grasp the concept of limited time. I can’t do everything I need to do here, and at the same time it’s been so long since I could go home to be with family, and that’s just not okay. But it’s life and I have to live with it. I now know how mean people can be. I’ve been robbed to the point of having nothing this semester, I’ve come close to quitting school because of people problems, and I’ve had to move because people with power wanted me gone (it was exactly like Kira’s experience with that one lady, except for me there were no elders to help). And, working at a nursing home, I now know death. I won’t get into that, it’s too much. But I will say I have one resident who is a charming old man. Blind, too. And incidentally, he was the image that came to me when I read the end with Kira’s father.

        There’s too much pain with the setting of Gathering Blue. Ironically, though Lowry was criticizing the ignorance of The Giver lifestyle, I find (since I can no longer be there) reading about it to be one of the most comforting things in the world.

        TL;DR – So yeah, I like The Giver ^_^

        Definitely The Giver. The two were distinct opposites: The Giver being the imperfect, perfect society; Gathering Blue being the imperfect, imperfect society.

        The Giver tells of things abstract to me, like lessons warning against communism and singularity.

        Like

  2. I agree that Hunger Games is the better book. I did find Divergent to be a page-turner, but I was never motivated enough to continue reading the series. I can so relate to your comments about spring break being over. Last week felt like a rough re-entry for me. I didn’t get nearly as much done as I intended to. Of course, that is kind of the story of my life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I felt bad after posting that Divergent seemed like a copycat of The Hunger Games because someone told me they thought that actually Divergent was published before The Hunger Games. But I just looked it up and Divergent came out three years later, so unless Roth started writing first then I still think it is awfully similar.

      Like

  3. I cried so hard when I read the Fault in Our Stars. I was really disappointed with the movie thought. I haven’t read Divergent, but the movies seem really similar to the Hunger Games. I feel like books and movies like that are really popular right now

    Like

Leave a Reply

