It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Jock And Jill

I’m seriously still not over the fact that spring break is over but summer break is soooo far away!  Good thing we have this Friday off, right? 🙂

Jack and Jill went up the hill to fetch a pail of water.  Jack fell down and broke his crown, and Jill came tumbling after.  In “Jock and Jill” by Robert Lipsyte, it isn’t Jill who tumbles after the roughed-up Jack, but the other way around.  Although this was a sports story (partially) which might lead you to believe it would interest some male readers, I personally thought that it was a rather ‘girly’ story.  The male main character was a stud pitcher for his high school baseball team but left in the middle of the championship game for a reason that I thought was kind of bogus (and yes, it has to do with Jill.)  I wasn’t a big fan of this story and would only give it about 1.5-2 stars out of 5.

I also finished “Messenger.” I like how this series doesn’t absolutely tie into the other books, but doesn’t stray away far enough to not be a series. (Did that make sense?)  For instance, in this book Jonas appears (the main character in The Giver) but the story is mostly about a different main character named Matty.  I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars, but I think I will take a break from dystopian literature (including the last book in this series) for now.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Much as I love spring break, I sometimes wonder if it’s a good idea because I think we all struggle to get focused again afterwards. The semester still has many weeks left, but most of my students still seem a bit checked out!! I haven’t read any books by Lipsyte. His novel The Contender is a YA sports classic, but I would imagine it feels fairly dated.

    Like

  2. I might have to check out The Contender. I could tell that Jock and Jill was a bit older (I honestly did not check out what year it was written) but it was mostly because of how the book looked (I don’t really know how to explain what I mean by that, haha.) If it was on my Kindle I wonder if I still would have been able to tell or not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

