It’s Monday! What are you reading?

I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter and a fabulous day off from school!  I plan on catching up on homework today — goodness I have a lot to do!

i'll-give-you-the-sun

Last week I read Jandy Nelson’s book I’ll Give You the Sun.  Honestly, I picked this book because of the pretty rainbow cover.  I learned years and years ago that you should literally never judge a book by its cover, but my inner two year old sometimes wins and I just can’t ignore a pretty cover.  Fortunately, this time I wasn’t disappointed by the contents (because that’s happened to me many times but I STILL don’t learn my lesson about reading the jacket to make sure the book will be an interesting read).  The characters in the book (fraternal twins named Jude and Noah) give their perspectives at separate times in the novel which I thought was super interesting.  They may be twins, but they are incredibly dissimilar.   One way that they are similar, however, is that they both are romantically interested in males (Jude is a straight girl and Noah is a gay boy).  So if you are looking for a LGBTQ book to read this semester, you should check this one out!  Oh, and also, Jude sees ghosts so that’s interesting, too.  And in the three years between when Noah gives his narrative and when Jude gives hers, they mysteriously have stopped talking to one another.  I don’t want to give too much away, but I really do recommend giving this book a try!

Have an excellent Monday!

Leave a Reply

