Yes to the dress

wedding dresswedding timeline

The above picture wasn’t CC, so I hope I don’t get threatened with a lawsuit or anything. But I for sure want to give credit to marrythis.com where I found the picture. In my pursuit to plan a wedding, I found timelines which explain when a bride should look into certain aspects of the wedding. And it’s really useful. But here’s the thing: I haven’t been following any of these timelines exactly. I’ve been working ahead. It’s partially because of this class (I need to do something for four hours a week or I’d have nothing to blog about) and it’s partly because … well I’m not sure why, but I’m having actually somewhat of a good time feeling so accomplished! So far this week I looked into blocking off hotel rooms for my out of town guests and I also bought a wedding dress and veil. I told someone today that if it wasn’t for the fact that my sister is getting married this month (July 25th) then I really could have had my wedding planned and ready by the end of summer.

I’ve made hotel reservations before, but I wasn’t very sure what to do in order to reserve a block of rooms. One of the resources that was very helpful was http://bit.ly/1gdQp57. This site gave great advice regarding what to ask, what complicated terms meant, and even gave me an additional site to utilize called grouptravel.org. As you can see on the marrythis.com picture, it’s ideal to book the hotel a year in advance. Since Buffalo draws a lot of tourists (we’re on the way to Yellowstone and the Big Horn Mountains are just miles away from Main Street) I very much do want to ensure my guests have a place to stay. I haven’t yet decided which hotel to choose, but will decide for sure by the middle of the month.

The wedding dress could have waited, I grant you that. A year before the wedding a bride is supposed to start wedding dress shopping according the icon. However, I still had a couple more months available to look around before making the big buy. But one thing I have definitely figured out about myself in the last few weeks is that I am incredibly decisive – which is actually incredibly nice. The day we went (Monday) I didn’t even know we were going to go gown shopping (which is probably easy to tell because my hair is a complete mess and I have absolutely no makeup on). I tried on a total of 8 dresses and it took a grand total of two hours. It was much, much easier than I had ever anticipated. Hooray for nice surprises!

Next week I would like to figure out for sure what I want to have for the color scheme and possibly start buying decorations. I have an idea of what I want already, but if you have any input I would love to hear it!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Yes to the dress

    • Awww, thanks! I’m also enjoying my project! I’m really glad that I picked it. I know I would have only spent a minimal amount of time on planning if it weren’t for this class. And honestly, I’m worried about how the planning will go once July is over and this class is finished.

      Like

Leave a Reply

