Top Ten Tuesday

  1. American Sniper
    1. The only book on my list that wouldn’t be considered YA.  I’ve been wanting to read this book since I saw the movie in January!  I even checked it out from the library once and didn’t end up getting to it.  I’m definitely going to read it before the end of fall.
  2. 8: The Previously Untold Story of the Previously Unknown 8th Dwarf
    1. I love fairy tales and fractured fairy tales.  Even if you don’t, you can’t tell me that you’re not intrigued by this title.
  3. A John Green book
    1. I don’t know which one yet.  I think(?) I’ve only read The Fault in Our Stars by Green and I think it’s a shame I haven’t read more.
  4. The Outsiders
    1. I read this book in 7th grade and can only remember a couple of minute details about it.  It’s a classic that I’d like to more readily remember. I am determined to reread it this fall.
  5. Cinder
    1. Number two on my fairy tale list.  I don’t know much about it (other than it’s obviously a Cinderella retelling).  I just know that I love love love the cover.
  6. The Boy in the Stripped Pajamas
    1. Another classic YA book that I need to get my hands on.  I’ve been meaning to read it for a couple of years because I feel like I should.  But, because of this feeling of need to not necessarily want to, I have yet to.  I hope it’s as good as they say.
  7. The Maze Runner
    1. I’m trying to increase my knowledge of YA books that my future male students may tend to enjoy.  This probably won’t be really up my alley, but hopefully worth the read in a few years.
  8. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
    1. Titles and covers really get me.  Like Cinder, I have only a guess at what this will be about but I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a book I’ll very much enjoy.  It always interests me when a book has a somewhat long title, and what an intriguing one!
  9. Briar Rose
    1. She’s my absolute favorite Disney princess!  To wrap up my fairy tale reading list for the fall, I have to have her in it.
  10. We Were Liars
    1. I know that this book has won a ton of awards, so it must be kind of a big deal, right?  Also, again with the title.  Liars?  Or, I guess, past liars?  Hmmmm….
2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Paper Towns is my favorite John Green novel (well, actually Will Grayson Will Grayson is my favorite John Green novel, but it’s co-written with David Levithan). But my students generally prefer Looking for Alaska to Paper Towns, I think. I’ve got both if you’d like to borrow one! Breanna just started reading Cinder last night, so she can give you a report soon. I think I recommend seeing the movie for The Maze Runner, because then you’re only out two hours of time and you can still book talk! We read it in YA Book Club last year and I don’t think anyone liked it. Have you read any of Robin McKinley’s fairy tale retellings? She has a terrific one of Beauty and the Beast, called Beauty. I also really love her Robin Hood retelling, The Outlaws of Sherwood. You have so many good books on this list!

    Like

    • I love reading YA because 1. It’s just fun to read and 2. I want to be able to give my students a ton of solid suggestions like you just did for me!
      What’s Will Grayson Will Grayson about? If it’s your technical favorite I’d like to read it and see why.
      If Maze Runner’s movie follows the book well I’d definitely prefer that. It’s so hard to read a book you can’t get into!
      I haven’t read any of McKinley’s retellings … I don’t think. But I’m also really bad at remembering names. I tend to even forget book titles! I’m a very visual person, so the cover is usually all I remember (which is why I love that we hold up books when we do book talks).
      Thanks again for all of your recommendations!

      Like

Leave a Reply

