What’s at the Core of the Common Core?

13977768897_f8d07281a3_z

Photo CC by WWYD? http://www.opednews.com/articles/CONFLICTED-A-Look-at-MSNB-by-Gustav-Wynn-Accountability_Al-Sharpton_Alec_Charter-Schools-140505-22.html

Last week we spent time talking about standards, and our conversation reminded me a bit of this week in Graphic Novels.  For those of you who aren’t presently in both classes, I’ll give you a little background.  This week we read Maus by Art Spiegelman.  This graphic novel is based on Art’s father’s experience as a Jew during the Holocaust.  Of course, as with every time I’ve learned about the Holocaust, the following question arose in my mind: How did we let this happen?  Now to compare the Holocaust to the Common Core is rash and dramatic (and probably offensive), I understand.  And even though I see that the comparison is extreme, there are some definite similarities between the two.  The government came in with a “great” plan for education, forced it on schools (okay schools had a choice: massive budget cuts or accept the Common Core?), and although teachers express their concerns, nothing happens. Am I the only one bothered by this?

4 thoughts on “What’s at the Core of the Common Core?

  1. I am bothered by this too! It is really frustrating that we are supposed to teach to these standards that are not helping our classes. How do we make a bigger change? We can make it start in our own classrooms, but then what?

    This picture you posted with this is great!

    Like

    • Thanks, Mackenzie! For one of the three professional development books I chose for this class I got one about the Common Core. I haven’t started it yet, but I’ll be really interested in whether it answers some of the great questions you mentioned.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

