Better Late than Never!

10571971_dc0f653948_z

Photo CC by Julie Falk

To me, reading is like a dream. I realized that, when we made our list of reasons why readers read, the vast majority of the time when I read my reason is to escape. When I start reading a book, I completely absorb the main character’s qualities. While I read, I am Katniss Everdeen running through the trees; my lungs hurt from the effort of breathing when I become Hazel Grace; I’m nerdy Mia Thermopolis who’s more than surprised to find out about my royal past. Escape is the only reason I’ve ever needed to read. Not because I have reasons to escape. But because I love dreaming. And all a book is to me, is a dream that’s just more coherent.

What I wonder is, how can you not get absorbed into a good book? Dr. E told us about those students who read and didn’t get the little movie of the events in their heads. How is that even possible? An even better question, how do we help them fix this? And how do we go about finding out if that’s a problem of one of our non-readers? It’s so empowering yet nerve racking to think that all we may have to do is flip a little switch in the mind of a student and then they could fall into a book like we do. They could see the shocked looks as they coughed up the snitch and won the quidditch match. They could feel the intense fear of Ponyboy, hiding away from civilization. They could stare daggers into Count Olaf after each unfortunate event. It’s a shame that there are people out there who haven’t experienced the art of escapism through books. How can I help them?

5 thoughts on “Better Late than Never!

  1. I feel like the majority of people read books in hopes of a release. I see books similar to movies in the fact that it allows the viewer a chance to get away from their personal world. Awesome post, you have a wonderful way of expressing your words.

    Like

  2. One thing I found really worked with some of my “non-readers” was for me to read aloud in a most expressive voice. Hearing a story read with proper emphasis and excitement helps them “see” what’s happening. I think choosing the right books is also important. Some books create visuals much more effectively than others, after all. Also, think-alouds can be a good strategy, though you don’t want to overuse and be interrupting the book all the time. But read a few paragraphs, then stop and model what you’re thinking and why you’re thinking it. “Oh wow, that was such a descriptive passage, I can really see this dark creepy tunnel where the characters are hiding, it’s damp, it smells, there’s almost no light coming in.” That sort of thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

