Press Your Luck: Whammy Style

I’m not a risk taker.  Too often I ask myself, “Am I pressing my luck?”  I’ve seen game shows before, after all.  All too many times I’ve seen a guy on the brink of a million dollars or some lady about to win a brand new convertible and an all-expenses paid vacation and lose it because they’re greedy little daredevils.  As a viewer of light-hearted, intended-for-entertainment game shows, I take the misfortunes stemmed from greed of game show contestants very seriously.

But today I started to wonder.  Do I miss out on life by being a Cautious Carla?  (I hope that term catches on, by the way.)  Do I inadvertently lose by being so afraid of losing?  What would happen if I took a page out of Jim Carey’s “Yes Man” script?  Let’s find out, shall we?  So on this 15th day of December, a random Tuesday in a random week of a random year, I pledge to start trying a few risky adventures.  Toast my sandwich at Subway?  Why not?  Dye a strand of my hair blonde?  As long as it’s not too noticeable!  Introduce myself to a stranger?  Okay, let’s not get too carried away here.  It’s not like I’m Michael Larson.  (If you don’t get the reference consult Google and connect what you find back to my post title and post picture.)

Try to get in the spirit yourself: Go forth and press your luck.

Leave a Reply

