Crushing the Crossword Culture

crossword

I used to be really, really fast at crossword puzzles. Like, scary fast. Everyone in my 1st grade class was. Because every day for at least an hour (spread out throughout the day) we were expected to sit at our desks doing them. And that, my friends, is why I want to be a teacher. Not so I can have my students spend literally over a week of their lives (I seriously did the math just now. It totaled to 7.5 days of my life as a 7 year old.) doing crossword puzzles or coloring Santa’s reindeer or filling out bubbles for the correct vocabulary word, but so I can actually give my students and education. And to ensure that I’m ready to do that, I plan to develop as a teacher by …….

Christmas break:

  • Read Hatchet
  • Read American Sniper
  • Read at least one graphic novel
  • Read at least one professional development book
  • Blog weekly
  • Be slightly more active on Twitter (the educational side of it)

Next semester:

  • Widen my repertoire of Ted Talks (specifically ones I can use while teaching and to learn about teaching)
  • Find out more about speed reading
  • Read at least one professional development book
  • Blog weekly
  • Read more YA lit

Almost all of my goals center on reading and writing. I want to always develop as a learner and show my that I’m excited about learning, too! I can’t wait to read the ways everyone else plans to continue to develop as pre-service teachers!

3 thoughts on “Crushing the Crossword Culture

  1. I laughed so hard when I saw this word search all filled out! I love your plan, Shannon. Graphic novels recs since you’re focused on middle school: everything Raina Telgemeier, Sunny Side Up by Jenni and Matt Holm; Yummy by G. Neri; Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson, This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki.

    Like

  2. All of my kids loved Hatchet, so it must be good if they agreed on something! Have you read Reading in the Wild yet? I think that’s my favorite PD book and Nicky liked it too. I hit both libraries yesterday before I left town so I’m hoping so more snow so I don’t have to feel guilty about just reading books all break.

    Like

    • I admire your attitude about reading. I had so many reading and writing goals over the break and hardly accomplished any of them. I spent most of it instead working on wedding stuff. I haven’t read Reading in the Wild, but I remember both you and Nicky raved about it in Methods so I very much want to!

      Like

Leave a Reply

